You are here > News > January > New Chair for Mid Essex Hospitals

3 January 2019

New Chair for Mid Essex Hospitals

A new Chair has been appointed for Mid Essex Hospitals NHS Trust.

Alan Tobias OBE will join the trust from 1 February. Alan is already the Chair at Southend Hospital, and will hold the role across both trusts.

Mid Essex Hospitals is expected to merge with Southend and Basildon hospitals next year, and this joint appointment represents a further step in closer working between the organisations.

Nigel Beverley will continue in his role as Chair at Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and remains Chair of the three hospitals’ Joint Working Board.

Clare Panniker, Chief Executive of the three trusts, said: “I am delighted that Alan will be joining the team at Mid Essex as our permanent Chair. He has been instrumental in delivering improvements in patient care at Southend and I have no doubt that he will be a huge asset. 

“I would also like to offer my sincere thanks to the outgoing Chair, Nick Alston, who has chosen to step down from the role. He has been a Non Executive Director at Mid Essex for eight years and has played a vital role in providing strong leadership at a time of change for the organisation. He will be greatly missed.”

Nick Alston said: “I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Mid Essex. Working with the dedicated teams here has been a privilege. It has been a source of constant inspiration to witness the great services delivered by our skilled and dedicated staff every day.

“I am pleased that I am leaving them in such capable hands.”

NHS Improvement has today confirmed Alan’s appointment until the end of 2020, or the official merger of the three trusts – whichever is sooner.

Alan said: “I’m really looking forward to being part of the team at Mid Essex Hospitals. There is some fantastic work going on across the organisation, and real opportunities to improve care and services for the population we serve as we work more closely with Basildon, Southend and our community partners.”