You are here > Services > A-Z of Clinical Services > U Services > Urology Services

Urology Services

Urology Centre at Broomfield Hospital 

Urology is a surgical speciality, covering the diagnosis and treatment of disorders of the kidneys, ureters, bladder, prostate and reproductive organs. 

This page provides information contact information for patients and healthcare professionals, and also about activity within the department of urology. 

Some of the sub-specialties we offer are:  

  • Stone disease

  • Kidney cancer

  • Robotic surgery

  • Laser surgery

  • Bladder cancer

  • Prostate cancer and PSA testing

  • Incontinence including Botulinum Toxin treatment and sling surgery

  • Prostate disease

  • Erectile dysfunction

  • Andrology



Referrals are accepted from GPs and other hospital consultants. Our local catchment area is from Mid Essex, but we also accept tertiary referrals for some of the sub-specialist services we provide.

Clinical research in this area

Helpul Links:  

The Walnut Club is a prostate cancer support group which is held in the Medical Academic Unit once a month, last Monday of month excluding bank holidays. At 17:00hrs -19:00hrs. All men and their partners welcome, we have speakers, tea, coffee and biscuits.

The website details are: www.e-voice.org.uk/thewalnutclub

Please Click Here for Urology Patient Information Leaflets


Clinic number

01245 513818

About our Staff  

Our unit is staffed by a large team of doctors, nurses, therapists and support staff. You are likely to meet many of these throughout your encounter with our department.

There are four consultant urological surgeons in our department. 

Consultant Urological Surgeons

Mr Danny Swallow

Secretary: Sarah Godolphin

Tel:  01245 514637

Email: Sarah.Godolphin@meht.nhs.uk

Mr Martin Nuttall - Co-Clinical Lead

Secretarial: Gemma Cook 

Tel:  01245 514021  

Email: gemma.cook2@meht.nhs.uk

Mr Karan Wadhwa

Secretary: Debbie Hiscox 

Tel: 01245 514096  

Email: Debbie.Hiscox@meht.nhs.uk

Mr Bill McAllister

Secretary: Sarah Godolphin 

Tel: 01245 514637 

Email: Sarah.Godolphin@meht.nhs.uk 

Mr Rowan Casey

Secretary: Debbie Hiscox 

Tel: 01245 514096  

Email: Debbie.Hiscox@meht.nhs.uk 

Clinical Nurse Specialists

  • Jo Shingler - Consultant Nurse & Co-Clinical Lead - 01245 515026
  • Amanda Hammond - 01245 514396
  • Lorraine Simpson - 01245 513831 
  • Louise Barker - 01245 516252 
  • Amanda Lewis (Uro-oncology): (Secretaries; Jackie Baggs and Susan Eves) - 01245 514499 
  • Stephanie Clark (Uro-oncology): (Secretaries; Jackie Baggs and Susan Eves) - 01245 514499 

Other Medical and Clinical Staff

  • Abbigail Simpson - Urology Service Co-ordinator - 01245 513819
  • Gemma Cook - Admin Co-ordinator - 01245 514021
  • Justyna Ziobro - Admin Support - 01245 513463  
  • Michael Aitken - Patient Access Officer - 01245 513635  
  • Sian Goodings and David Clapp - MDT Co-ordinators - 01245 513823  
  • Satyavanti Garbhoo - MDT Co-ordinator Assistant - 01245 516249